Mirror

I hope this poem finds you
Before you surrender to the
Everyday, before you learn
To tie a tie and stand up
Straight. I hope it finds you
Young at any age, dreaming
Whether sleeping or awake,
Full of hope no matter who
Or what and when has happened.
I hope it finds you while you
Are still becoming you. I hope
It finds you when you are old
Enough to have learned to
Love and to believe, Young
Enough to not have forgotten
Either. Most of all I hope
It finds you; I hope it finds
The truth inside of you and
Sings it into fire, spells it into
Web that shoots from star to
Star and spins for love and
Beauty on the axis of an
Atom. I hope it finds you
There, and that you look
Into it as a mirror, and you
Love what you find.

Leave a Reply

