Le Professeur–How I Began Recording

I remember my friend Erick’s computer from childhood. It was the mid-nineties and they had some PC running Windows 95, and it was the coolest thing I had ever seen. Sometimes I would go over to their house Sunday afternoons after church and coop myself up in the computer room and just doodle all day in MS Paint. Because, painting.

Fast-forward a couple of years and Erick’s computer had moved to the basement, and he had a sweet new program, a DAW (digital audio workstation) called Cakewalk. Ah, yes. The glory days. Now I would go over and Erick and Scott and Doug and I would spend an afternoon using 1/4″-1/8″ audio adapters to go direct in from his old Zoom pedal with guitars and bass, and singing into someone’s $9.99 Radioshack microphone, and after a few hours, presto: we’d record an album. The world was a simpler place.

The summer after my freshman year of high school, I got a job and started putting money in the bank. The first thing I did when I’d saved up $900? Bought my first PC. It was a do-it-yourself kit my friend Jason helped me pick out on TigerDirect, with a monstrous 17″ refurbished CRT monitor. That thing was deeper than the display. I think my first hard drive was 20GB, of which I was quite proud (ten times more storage than the family computer had!). And, of course, I got a copy of Cakewalk.

What followed was an ongoing love affair with home recording. I’ve never managed to make a recording that sounded like anything other than a home recording; that is to say, none of my stuff is professional-grade. Blame it on the gear, if you like; I’ve never spent more than $200 on a mic. Or on the fact that it is, at the end of the day, still just a hobby; it’s not paying any bills, and I haven’t actively learned much in the field in a decade or so. Nevertheless I love recording when I get the time to do so and the muse strikes.

I call my stuff ‘Le Professeur,’ a pseudonym I coined back in 2000 when I picked up that first PC. Matter of fact, Erick was calling me ‘The Professor’ as far back, I think, as 1998, when I was writing all in MIDI. I’ve put a handful of albums under my belt over the years. I observed a hiatus during most of grad school and the early years of marriage, but in 2016 I rebooted with ‘In Like a Lion,’ an album I’d written nearly a decade before. Now I’m sharing that album and whatever comes afterward on this blog. Feel free to listen, download, and share if you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

